The Dune Books in Order

Here is a list of all the Dune books in order, including the original Dune series by Frank Herbert, and the following series by Brian Herbert/Kevin J. Anderson.

This list is numbered in Publication order as that is how we suggest reading the series for first-time readers of this science fiction epic.

(All links are Amazon affiliate links, so we get a little something if you purchase any of these books through the links.)

Frank Herbert’s Original Dune Books in Order

#1 – Dune (1965) 

#2 – Dune Messiah (1969) 

#3 – Children of Dune (1976) 

#4 – God Emperor of Dune (1981) 

#5 – Heretics of Dune 

#6 – Chaperhouse: Dune (1985)

the dune books in order

Brian Herbert/Kevin J. Anderson’s Dune Books in Order

Prelude to Dune Series

#7 – House Atreides (1999) 

#8 – House Harkonnen (2000) 

#9 – House Corrino (2001)

Legends of Dune Series

#10 – The Butlerian Jihad (2002) 

#11 – The Machine Crusade (2003) 

#12 – The Battle of Corrin (2004)

And Then

#13 – Hunters of Dune (2006) 

#14 – Sandworms of Dune (2007)

Heroes of Dune Series

#15 – The Butlerian Jihad (2002) 

#16 – The Machine Crusade (2003) 

#17 – The Battle of Corrin (2004)

Great Schools of Dune Series

#18 – Sisterhood of Dune (2012) 

#19 – Mentats of Dune (2014) 

#20 – Navigators of Dune (2016)

The Caladan Trilogy Series

#21 – The Duke of Caladan (2020) 

#22 – The Lady of Caladan (2021) 

#23 – The Heir of Caladan (2022)

Similar to The Dune Books in Order

Sign Up for the Latest Updates

Sign up to receive the most recent blog posts in your inbox

Liked it? Take a second to support The Fantasy Review on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Owner and Editor of The Fantasy Review. Loves all fantasy and science fiction books, graphic novels, TV and Films. Having completed a BA and MA in English Literature and Creative writing, they would like to go on to do a PhD. Favourite authors are Trudi Canavan, Steven Erikson, George R. R. Martin and Brandon Sanderson.

Back to top
%d bloggers like this: