The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien: Book Review - The Fantasy Review

The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien: Book Review

My Review

My Rating: 5/5

The Silmarillion by J. R. R. Tolkien is an in-depth summary of the creation of Arda and the events that passed during the first, second, and third ages of Middle-earth.

The history of this fantasy world that J. R. R. Tolkien has built is wonderfully complex so The Silmarillion is a perfect starting point for anyone who wants to learn its history. Like I said, it is only a brief summary, as so many details are left out.

The narrative voice in The Silmarillion is omnipresent, giving the reader a view of the world as an onlooker which brings an almost biblical-feel to the book. I loved the narrative but I had to re-read sentences and paragraphs as I read due to the way in which things were said.

From the oldest and deadliest dark lord, Melkor, and his corruption of elves, men, and even one of the Maiar, to the evolution of Elves, Dwarves, and Men and their tragic and joyful tales, The Silmarillion is a perfect start to the world Tolkien has built.

NB. I would suggest that readers read The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit before attempting The Silmarillion as to understand a lot of it, it would be easier to be familiar with a bit of the world, even if it is only the third age.

(Possible) SPOILER SECTION – No spoilers for this review – I might come back to it in the future, or possibly start writing some discussion posts on the plots, books and characters of the series.

Book Reviews for J. R. R. Tolkien’s Legendarium

The Hobbit

The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings #1)

The Two Towers (The Lord of the Rings #2)

The Return of the King (The Lord of the Rings #3)

The Silmarillion

Latest Fantasy Blog Posts

Owner and Editor of The Fantasy Review. Loves all fantasy and science fiction books, graphic novels, TV and Films. Having completed a BA and MA in English Literature and Creative writing, they would like to go on to do a PhD. Favourite authors are Trudi Canavan, Steven Erikson, George R. R. Martin and Brandon Sanderson.

Back to top