The Game of Thrones Books in Order - The Fantasy Review

The Game of Thrones Books in Order

Here is a list of the Game of Thrones books in order, the A Song and Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin.

This list is numbered in Publication order.

(Amazon links are affiliate links, so we get a little something if you choose to buy the books through them.)

The Main Series Books in Order

the game of thrones books in order

#1 – A Game of Thrones (1996) 

#2 – A Clash of Kings (1998) 

#3 – A Storm of Swords (2000) 

#4 – A Feast for Crows (2005) 

#5 – A Dance with Dragons (2011) 

#6 – The Winds of Winter (forthcoming) 

#7 – A Dream of Spring (planned) 

The Prequel Novellas (Tales of Dunk and Egg)

  1. The Hedge Knight (1998)
  2. The Sworn Sword (2003)
  3. The Mystery Knight (2010)

Additional Books in Westeros

There are a few additional books set in Westeros. They are fantasy non-fiction books that tell the histories of the world in A Song of Ice and Fire. The reading order is not important, but here is the publication order.

  1. The World of Ice & Fire (2014)
  2. Fire and Blood (2018)
  3. The Rise of the Dragon (2022)

Related to The Game of Thrones Books in Order

Liked it? Take a second to support The Fantasy Review on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Owner and Editor of The Fantasy Review. Loves all fantasy and science fiction books, graphic novels, TV and Films. Having completed a BA and MA in English Literature and Creative writing, they would like to go on to do a PhD. Favourite authors are Trudi Canavan, Steven Erikson, George R. R. Martin and Brandon Sanderson.

Back to top