The Malazan Books in Order

Here is a list of the Malazan books in order, an epic fantasy world shared by several book series and co-created by Steven Erikson and Ian C. Esslemont. 

So, the Malazan books in order will separate all the series into the order we recommend reading them.

These lists are numbered in Publication order.

(Amazon links are affiliate links, so we get a little something if you choose to buy the books through them.)

Malazan Book of the Fallen Reading Order

the malazan books in order

The Malazan Book of the Fallen was the first series published in this world, and was written by Steven Erikson. Consisting of 10 books, the reading order is:

#1 – Gardens of the Moon 

#2 – Deadhouse Gates 

#3 – Memories of Ice 

#4 – House of Chains 

#5 – Midnight Tides

#6 – The Bonehunters

#7 – Reaper’s Gale

#8 – Toll the Hounds

#9 – Dust of Dreams

#10 – The Crippled God

Novels of the Malazan Empire Reading Order

The Novels of the Malazan Empire is the first series in this world written by Ian C. Esslemont. These books are chronologically aligned with the Malazan Book of the Fallen series, so some people read the two series in tandem.

#1 – Night of Knives 

#2 – Return of the Crimson Guard 

#3 – Stonewielder 

#4 – Orb Sceptre Throne 

#5 – Blood and Bone 

#6 – Assail

The Bauchelain & Korbal Broach Novellas

The Bauchelain & Korbal Broach novellas were written by Steven Erikson and feature some of the characters from the main Malazan Book of the Fallen series. 

#1 – Blood Follows 

#2- The Healthy Dead 

#3 – The Lees of Laughter’s End 

#4 – Crack’d Pot Trail 

#5 – The Wurms of Blearmouth 

#6 – The Fiends of Nightmaria 

#7 – Upon a Dark of Evil Overlords

The Kharkanas Trilogy

Another series written by Steven Erikson, the Kharkanas Trilogy is set thousands of years before the events of the main Malazan Book of the Fallen series. 

#1 – Forge of Darkness 

#2 – Fall of Light 

#3 – Walk in Shadow (Upcoming)

The Path to Ascendancy Series

Another prequel series, this time written by Ian C. Esslemont. The Path to Ascendancy series is set decades before the events of Malazan Book of the Fallen and Novels of the Malazan Empire series.

#1 – Dancer’s Lament 

#2 – Deadhouse Landing 

#3 – Kellanved’s Reach

The Witness Trilogy

And finally on this list, we have the Witness Trilogy by Steven Erikson. These books take place after the events of The Crippled God, the last book in the Malazan Book of the Fallen

#1 – The God is Not Willing 

#2 – No Life Forsaken 

#3 – (Untitled Third Novel)

Read all the Malazan Books in Order

This is a list of all the Malazan books in order (publication) if you want to read both the books by Steven Erikson and Ian C. Esslemont at the same time. (Not suggested for first-time readers of the series).

  1. Gardens of the Moon
  2. Deadhouse Gates
  3. Memories of Ice
  4. Blood Follows
  5. House of Chains
  6. Midnight Tides
  7. The Healthy Dead
  8. Night of Knives
  9. The Bonehunters
  10. The Lees of Laughter’s End
  11. Reaper’s Gale
  12. Return of the Crimson Guard
  13. Toll the Hounds
  14. Dust of Dreams
  15. Crack’d Pot Trail
  16. Stonewielder
  17. The Crippled God
  18. Orb Sceptre Throne
  19. The Wurms of Blearmouth
  20. Forge of Darkness
  21. Blood and Bone
  22. Assail
  23. Dancer’s Lament
  24. Fall of Light
  25. The Fiends of Nightmaria
  26. Deadhouse Landing
  27. Kellanved’s Reach
  28. The God is Not Willing

Related to The Malazan Books in Order

Sign Up for the Latest Updates

Sign up to receive the most recent blog posts in your inbox

Liked it? Take a second to support The Fantasy Review on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Owner and Editor of The Fantasy Review. Loves all fantasy and science fiction books, graphic novels, TV and Films. Having completed a BA and MA in English Literature and Creative writing, they would like to go on to do a PhD. Favourite authors are Trudi Canavan, Steven Erikson, George R. R. Martin and Brandon Sanderson.

Back to top
%d bloggers like this: