A Beginner's Guide to The Belgariad by David Eddings - The Fantasy Review

A Beginner’s Guide to The Belgariad by David Eddings

FallenKingdomReads’ Beginner’s Guide to The Belgariad by David Eddings

If you’re a fan of classic fantasy novels, then The Belgariad by David Eddings is a series that you should definitely consider checking out. This epic tale of adventure, magic, and heroic quests has captured the imaginations of readers for decades, and is still just as popular today as it was when it was first published in the 1980s.

In this beginner’s guide, we’ll give you all the information you need to know to get started with The Belgariad. From an introduction to the author to a breakdown of the books in the series, we’ve got you covered.


David Eddings is an American author who is best known for his epic fantasy novels. He was born in 1931 and passed away in 2009, leaving behind a legacy of beloved books that have been enjoyed by countless readers around the world.

What to Expect from the Books

The Belgariad is a classic epic fantasy series that tells the story of a young boy named Garion who discovers that he is not the simple farm boy he thought he was, but rather a key player in a grand prophecy that will determine the fate of the world. Along with a host of other memorable characters, including the sorcerer Belgarath, the warrior Silk, and the beautiful princess Ce’Nedra, Garion embarks on a quest to defeat the evil god Torak and restore balance to the universe.

Books in Publication Order

We have a full Reading Guide for all of David Eddings’ books HERE!

The Belgariad is made up of five books, which are as follows:

  • Pawn of Prophecy (1982)
  • Queen of Sorcery (1982)
  • Magician’s Gambit (1983)
  • Castle of Wizardry (1984)
  • Enchanters’ End Game (1984)

In addition to The Belgariad, David Eddings also wrote a number of other related series, including The Malloreon, The Elenium, and The Tamuli. If you enjoy The Belgariad, you may want to check out these other series as well.


The Belgariad is a must-read for fans of classic epic fantasy novels. With its memorable characters, intricate plot, and thrilling action sequences, it’s easy to see why this series has remained popular with readers for so many years. Whether you’re new to the genre or a seasoned veteran, The Belgariad is definitely worth checking out.

beginner's guide to the belgariad

Related to our Beginner’s Guide to The Belgariad

Back to top