A Beginner’s Guide to The First Law Trilogy by Joe Abercrombie

FallenKingdomReads’ Beginner’s Guide to The First Law Trilogy by Joe Abercrombie

If you are looking for a dark, gritty, and action-packed fantasy series, The First Law Trilogy by Joe Abercrombie might just be what you need. This epic trilogy has captured the hearts of many readers with its complex characters, intricate plot, and vivid world-building. In this guide, we will take a closer look at the world of The First Law Trilogy and give you everything you need to know before diving into this dark and thrilling series.

Who is Joe Abercrombie?

Joe Abercrombie is a British fantasy author known for his dark and gritty writing style. He was born in Lancaster, England, in 1974, and started his career as a freelance film editor. In 2002, he decided to pursue writing full-time and published his first novel, The Blade Itself, in 2006, which is the first book in The First Law Trilogy. Since then, he has published many other novels and short stories, earning critical acclaim for his unique take on the fantasy genre.

What to Expect from the Books

The First Law Trilogy takes place in a world that is both familiar and unfamiliar. It is a dark and gritty world where magic exists but is rare and mysterious. The story follows several main characters, each with their own agenda and motivations. There’s Logen Ninefingers, a legendary warrior with a bloody past, Glokta, a former soldier turned torturer, and Jezal dan Luthar, a privileged nobleman who dreams of glory. Their stories intertwine as they get caught up in a power struggle that threatens to plunge the world into chaos.

Books in Publication Order

We have a full Reading Order for Joe Abercrombie’s Books HERE!

The First Law Trilogy consists of three books:

The trilogy has been published in many different editions, including audiobooks and graphic novels. Additionally, there are two related trilogies set in the same world:

  • The Age of Madness Trilogy
  • The First Law World Trilogy

These trilogies can be read in any order, but it is recommended to read The First Law Trilogy first.


The First Law Trilogy is a must-read for fans of dark and gritty fantasy. It is a complex and thought-provoking series that will keep you hooked from the first page to the last. With its vivid characters, intricate plot, and unique take on the genre, The First Law Trilogy is a masterpiece of modern fantasy. So, if you’re looking for a series that will keep you on the edge of your seat, look no further than The First Law Trilogy by Joe Abercrombie.

Beginner's Guide to The First Law Trilogy

Related to our Beginner’s Guide to The First Law Trilogy

Sign Up for the Latest Updates

Sign up to receive the most recent blog posts in your inbox

Liked it? Take a second to support The Fantasy Review on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Back to top
%d bloggers like this: