5 Fantasy Books for Fans of The Magicians Trilogy - The Fantasy Review

5 Fantasy Books for Fans of The Magicians Trilogy

Here is a list of 5 Fantasy Books for Fans of The Magicians Trilogy. These recommendations include four fantasy series and one standalone.

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

Fantasy Books for Fans of The Magicians

From the blurb of book 1:

On a daring quest to save a life, two friends are hurled into another world, where an evil sorceress seeks to enslave them. But then the lion Aslan’s song weaves itself into the fabric of a new land, a land that will be known as Narnia. And in Narnia, all things are possible.

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

Fantasy Books for Fans of The Magicians

From the blurb:

The year is 1806. Centuries have passed since practical magicians faded into the nation’s past. But scholars of this glorious history discover that one remains: the reclusive Mr Norrell, whose displays of magic send a thrill through the country. Proceeding to London, he raises a beautiful woman from the dead and summons an army of ghostly ships to terrify the French.

The Bartimaeus Trilogy by Jonathan Stroud

From the blurb of book 1:

When the 5,000-year-old djinni Bartimaeus is summoned by Nathaniel, a young magician’s apprentice, he expects to have to do nothing more taxing than a little levitation or a few simple illusions. But Nathaniel is a precocious talent and has something rather more dangerous in mind: revenge.

The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher

From the blurb of book 1:

Harry’s business as a private investigator has been quiet lately – so when the police bring him in to consult on a grisly double murder committed with black magic, he’s seeing dollar signs. But where there’s black magic, there’s a black mage behind it. And now that mage knows Harry’s name.
Magic – it can get a guy killed.

Mistborn (Era 1) by Brandon Sanderson

Fantasy Books for Fans of The Magicians

From the blurb of book 1:

A thousand years ago evil came to the land and has ruled with an iron hand ever since. The sun shines fitfully under clouds of ash that float down endlessly from the constant eruption of volcanoes. A dark lord rules through the aristocratic families and ordinary folk are condemned to lives in servitude, sold as goods, labouring in the ash fields.

Related to: 5 Fantasy Books for Fans of The Magicians Trilogy

Liked it? Take a second to support The Fantasy Review on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Back to top
%d