Why You Should Read 'Percy Jackson and the Olympians' - The Fantasy Review

Why You Should Read ‘Percy Jackson and the Olympians’

Emma‘s reasons why you should read Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

If you’re a fan of action-packed adventure, humor, and ancient mythology, you need to read the Percy Jackson and The Olympians series by Rick Riordan. This five-book series is a must-read for young adult and middle-grade readers, but it’s also enjoyable for anyone of any age!

Greek Myths in the Modern World

The series follows Percy Jackson, a dyslexic and ADHD teenager who discovers that he’s a demigod – half-human, half-god – and is whisked away to Camp Half-Blood, a training ground for demigods.

The world of Percy Jackson is one in which Greek mythology is intertwined with the modern world. You’ll see familiar gods, goddesses, and mythical creatures in a new light, as Percy and his friends come into contact with them throughout the series.

Wonderful Characters

One of the series’ strongest points is its cast of characters. Percy is an endearing protagonist who’s easy to root for, with his quick wit and loyalty to his friends.

His friends, Annabeth and Grover, are equally enjoyable to follow, with their own strengths and flaws. The trio’s banter and friendship are some of the best parts of the series.

The villains are also memorable, from the snarky Luke to the terrifying Kronos.

Reading Order

If you’re interested in reading the Percy Jackson and The Olympians series, the reading order is as follows:

  1. The Lightning Thief
  2. The Sea of Monsters
  3. The Titan’s Curse
  4. The Battle of the Labyrinth
  5. The Last Olympian

The Heroes of Olympus series and The Trials of Apollo series are follow-on series, taking place in the same universe as Percy Jackson and The Olympians. If you want to read those as well, the reading order is:

The Heroes of Olympus:

  1. The Lost Hero
  2. The Son of Neptune
  3. The Mark of Athena
  4. The House of Hades
  5. The Blood of Olympus

The Trials of Apollo:

  1. The Hidden Oracle
  2. The Dark Prophecy
  3. The Burning Maze
  4. The Tyrant’s Tomb
  5. The Tower of Nero


The Percy Jackson and The Olympians series is a great choice for anyone looking for a fun, engaging adventure story. The characters are memorable, the mythology is well-integrated, and the writing is top-notch. If you’re looking for a new series to read, give Percy Jackson a chance – you won’t be disappointed!

Related to: Why You Should Read Percy Jackson and the Olympians

Back to top