A Beginner's Guide to The Dark Tower by Stephen King - The Fantasy Review

A Beginner’s Guide to The Dark Tower by Stephen King

FallenKingdomReads’ Beginner’s Guide to The Dark Tower by Stephen King

The Dark Tower is a series of novels written by the American author Stephen King. The series is a blend of several genres, including dark fantasy, horror, and western. The series follows the journey of the protagonist, Roland Deschain, as he seeks the Dark Tower, a mythical structure that is said to be the center of all universes.

Who is Stephen King?

Stephen King is an American author of horror, supernatural fiction, suspense, and fantasy novels. He has written over 60 novels and 200 short stories and has sold more than 350 million copies of his works. King has won numerous awards for his writing, including the Bram Stoker Award, the World Fantasy Award, and the National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters.

What to Expect from the Books

The Dark Tower series consists of eight novels and one short story collection. The first book in the series, The Gunslinger, was published in 1982, while the final book, The Dark Tower, was published in 2004. The series is known for its complex storyline, intricate world-building, and well-developed characters.

The books are a mix of horror, western, and fantasy, with elements of time-travel, alternate realities, and parallel universes. The series is a journey, with each book building on the story and expanding the universe. The themes of the series include the nature of evil, the power of redemption, and the importance of love and sacrifice.

Books in Publication Order

The Dark Tower series is published in the following order:

  1. The Gunslinger (1982)
  2. The Drawing of the Three (1987)
  3. The Waste Lands (1991)
  4. Wizard and Glass (1997)
  5. Wolves of the Calla (2003)
  6. Song of Susannah (2004)
  7. The Dark Tower (2004)
  8. The Wind Through the Keyhole (2012) – a standalone novel set between the events of the fourth and fifth books.

Film Adaptation

The Dark Tower was adapted into a film in 2017, starring Idris Elba as Roland Deschain and Matthew McConaughey as the Man in Black. The film was met with mixed reviews and was not a box office success. The film adaptation, however, is not considered to be a faithful representation of the books and is not recommended for fans of the series.


The Dark Tower is a must-read for fans of Stephen King and for those who love a good blend of fantasy, horror, and western. The series is complex, but rewarding, with well-drawn characters and an intricate storyline. The books are a journey, and readers will find themselves fully invested in the world of Roland Deschain and the Dark Tower.

Beginner's Guide to The Dark Tower

Related to our Beginner’s Guide to The Dark Tower

Back to top