A Beginner’s Guide to the Alien Franchise - The Fantasy Review

A Beginner’s Guide to the Alien Franchise

The Fantasy Review‘s beginner’s guide to the Alien Franchise.


The Alien franchise is a series of science fiction horror movies that began in 1979 with the release of the first movie, Alien. Since then, the franchise has grown to include multiple sequels, prequels, and crossover movies (Alien vs. Predator). The movies follow Ellen Ripley and her battles against the hostile aliens.

Which Movies to Watch First

If you’re new to the Alien franchise, it’d recommend that you watch the movies in release date order. This will allow you to follow the story as it was originally intended and see the evolution of the franchise, the lore of the aliens, and the character development of Ripley over time.

Beginner’s Guide to the Alien Franchise

Movies (Release Date Order)

Here is a list of the Alien movies in release date order:

  1. Alien (1979)
  2. Aliens (1986)
  3. Alien 3 (1992)
  4. Alien Resurrection (1997)
  5. Alien vs. Predator (2004)
  6. Alien vs. Predator: Requiem (2007)
  7. Prometheus (2012)
  8. Alien: Covenant (2017)

Related to our Beginner’s Guide to the Alien Franchise

Owner and Editor of The Fantasy Review. Loves all fantasy and science fiction books, graphic novels, TV and Films. Having completed a BA and MA in English Literature and Creative writing, they would like to go on to do a PhD. Favourite authors are Trudi Canavan, Steven Erikson, George R. R. Martin and Brandon Sanderson.

Back to top