The Harry Potter Books in Order

Here is a list of the Harry Potter books in order, a children’s fantasy series written by J. K. Rowling. You already know what this series is about!

These this list is numbered in Publication order.

(Amazon links are affiliate links, so we get a little something if you choose to buy the books through them.)

The Harry Potter Books in Order

This is a list of the main Harry Potter series in order. Below, we list the additional books related to the series. 

harry potter books in order

#1 – Philosopher’s Stone (1997) 

#2 – Chamber of Secrets (1998) 

#3 – Prisoner of Azkaban (1999) 

#4 – Goblet of Fire (2000) 

#5 – Order of the Phoenix (2003) 

#6 – Half-Blood Prince (2005) 

#7 – Deathly Hallows (2007)

Related Books to the Harry Potter Universe

J.K. Rowling has also released a few books related to the main series. These are imaginary textbooks and short stories/folktales from the wizarding universe. These books are in no particular order:

  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2001)
  • Quidditch Through the Ages (2001)
  • The Tales of Beedle the Bard (2008)
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Screenplay
  • Fantastic Beasts – Screenplay

Harry Potter Film Adaptations

There have been adaptations of all 7 books in the main series, book 7, The Deathly Hallows, being split into two parts. Later, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them was adapted into a film series (now cancelled) called Fantastic Beasts.

The Main Series Adaptations:

  1. Philosopher’s Stone (2001)
  2. Chamber of Secrets (2002)
  3. Prisoner of Azkaban (2004)
  4. Goblet of Fire (2005)
  5. Order of the Phoenix (2007)
  6. Half-Blood Prince (2009)
  7. Deathly Hallows – Part 1 (2010)
  8. Deathly Hallows – Part 2 (2011)

Fantastic Beasts Adaptations:

  1. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2016)
  2. Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald (2018)
  3. Fantastic Beasts: The Secrets of Dumbledore (2022)

Similar to the Harry Potter Books in Order

Sign Up for the Latest Updates

Sign up to receive the most recent blog posts in your inbox

Liked it? Take a second to support The Fantasy Review on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Owner and Editor of The Fantasy Review. Loves all fantasy and science fiction books, graphic novels, TV and Films. Having completed a BA and MA in English Literature and Creative writing, they would like to go on to do a PhD. Favourite authors are Trudi Canavan, Steven Erikson, George R. R. Martin and Brandon Sanderson.

Back to top
%d bloggers like this: