A Beginner's Guide to the Mistborn Trilogy - The Fantasy Review

A Beginner’s Guide to the Mistborn Trilogy

FallenKingdomReads‘ Beginner’s Guide to the Mistborn Trilogy

The Mistborn Trilogy is a high fantasy series by American author Brandon Sanderson. The series has gained a cult following among fantasy fans for its intricate world-building, compelling characters, and unique magic system. In this guide, we’ll introduce you to the series and help you get started on your journey through this fantastic world.


The Mistborn Trilogy takes place in a world known as Scadrial, where the nobility are gifted with magical powers known as Allomancy. Allomancy is based on ingesting different metals, which give the users various powers. The protagonist of the series is a young street urchin named Vin, who discovers that she too is an Allomancer. She is then recruited by a group of rebels, led by the charismatic Kelsier, who are planning a rebellion against the Lord Ruler, the tyrant who has ruled over Scadrial for a thousand years.

What to Expect

Readers of the Mistborn Trilogy can expect a richly imagined world with complex characters and a unique magic system. The series is filled with political intrigue, epic battles, and plenty of surprises along the way. The characters are flawed and complex, with motivations that are often in conflict with each other. The themes of the series include power, oppression, and the nature of good and evil.

The pacing of the series is fast and engaging, with plenty of action and suspense to keep readers turning the pages. Sanderson is known for his detailed and imaginative world-building, and Scadrial is no exception. The world is full of history and lore, and readers will delight in uncovering the secrets of this intricate world.

Reading Order

The Mistborn Trilogy consists of three books: Mistborn: The Final Empire, The Well of Ascension, and The Hero of Ages. The trilogy is followed by two additional series set in the same world, but these are not necessary to read in order to enjoy the original trilogy.

The recommended reading order for the Mistborn series is as follows:

There is also a standalone novel set in the Mistborn universe, titled Mistborn: Secret History, which is best read after completing the original trilogy.

In conclusion, the Mistborn Trilogy is a fantastic entry point into the world of Brandon Sanderson. With intricate world-building, compelling characters, and a unique magic system, this series is sure to delight fantasy fans of all kinds. So, grab a copy of The Final Empire and get ready to be transported to the rich and engaging world of Scadrial.

Beginner's Guide to the Mistborn Trilogy

Related to: A Beginner’s Guide to the Mistborn Trilogy

Back to top